Port Douglas Rugby Club - History

Port Douglas Rugby Club was founded in 2000 with a view to promoting all levels of the sport of rugby union in a town traditionally dominated by AFL. That year the club entered the FNQ Rugby competition, a twelve team competition, based in Cairns.

Using largely its own resources supported by a grant from the Queensland Government, the club had by 2003 developed its home ground, a dedicated rugby field modelled on the famous Ballymore ground in Brisbane. Lights were installed to a standard capable of use by any level of rugby. In recognition of the work done by the club, Douglas Shire Council granted the club a lease effectively allowing exclusive use of the ground. This gives Port Douglas Rugby Club the distinction of being the only club in the FNQ competition to have its own ground.

In 2008, the club won it’s first premiership.

In 2011, the inaugural Port Douglas Sevens tournament was run. Initially fought out by local teams, this annual tournament has grown to now be a truly international event with the inclusion of teams from PNG as well as all parts of Queensland.

By 2013, once more using the clubs own resources supported by sponsors, Stage 1 of our clubhouse had been completed. This comprised clubroom, bar, toilets and a viewing deck.

After a successful 2014 season in which the club won its second premiership and in recognition of the club’s proven ability to run highly successful Sevens tournaments, the Queensland Rugby Union awarded the club hosting rights for the 2015 Queensland Country Rugby Championship, a first for this town.

Looking to the future, the club’s focus continues to be development of all levels of the game of rugby. In particular, our vision for our Sevens tournament is that it would continue to grow as an international event, a highlight of the ARU Sevens calendar.